English Language Arts

In April 2017, the North Carolina State Board of Education adopted new ELA standards for grades K-12. The Standard Course of Study describes what students should know, understand, and be able to do by the end of each grade level. How these standards are taught is decided at a district level. 

The NC Standard Course of Study was developed based on feedback provided from Parents, Community Members, Business/Industry Professionals, Higher Education Faculty, and Educators (teachers, administrators, curriculum specialists).   

The NC Standards are divided into 4 strands:  Reading Foundational Skills (K-5), Reading Literature, Reading Informational Text, Writing, Speaking and Listening, and Language. 

Click on the link below to open documents that highlight the ELA Common Core Standards for Fourth Grade and provide suggestions of how you can help your child at home:

Parent Guide for English Language Arts includes: 

  • an introduction to the NC English Language Arts Standard Course of Study 

  • an explanation of the skills your child is learning in fourth grade 

  • reading strategies for learning outside of school 

  • writing strategies for learning outside of school 

  • websites to support your child’s learning